Test level age guide

Educational evaluation and testing services for Irish schools

A quick guide to CAT4 levels and Irish Standardisations

CAT4 is available at seven different levels of difficulty. The tests have been developed in an overlapping, progressive format and are referred to as levels A to G. The target year group and age range covered by the norms for each test level are shown in the table below.


Test Level

Suitable for

Age range


Level A

1st, 2nd and 3rd classes

7:06 - 9:11


Level B

2nd, 3rd and 4th classes

8:06 - 10:11


Level C

3rd, 4th and 5th classes

9:06 - 11:11


Level D

5th and 6th classes

10:06 - 12:11

Irish 2012

Level E*

End 6th/First Year

11:06 - 13:11

Irish 2012

Level F*

Second/Third Year

12:06 - 15:11

Irish 2012

Level G*

TY/Fifth Year

14:06 - 17:00+

Irish 2012


*Levels E, F and G are sold to Post-Primary schools only

Schools are recommended to use the level of CAT4 shown for the year group they want to assess. This is particularly important if the school results are being combined with those from other schools for whatever reason.